Just finished up another gem of a book, Engaging Technology in Theological Education: All that we can’t leave behind, by Mary Hess. Perhaps what excites me the most as I read Hess’s book was that she finds value in the language that is pop culture media. Prior to my seminary education I was far more educated in pop-culture than I was in the Bible or theological ideas. Although I’d like to think that’s balancing out as time goes by, and hopefully tipping towards more familiarity with the Bible and theology, as the title suggests, there’s so much I can’t leave behind.

Among many, here are a couple of additional positives that come out of Hess’s book for me. On the relationship between witnessing Jesus Christ and digital technology Hess writes,

“Increasingly that witness has drawn me — compelled me, really — to think about the ways in which digital technologies engage the margins.” – Mary Hess

As Hess demonstrates throughout the book with several pop-media references, there is a base “language” so to speak that is well-known even among the margins of society. It is with this language that we can interact to bridge the language gap when it comes to conversing about theological ideas and the Bible.

Related to that same topic, Hess brings into this conversation racism and the influence of white supremacy. As a young white male I’ve often overlooked how privileged I am, most likely because my race and gender have caused next to no issues for me over the course of life. As I have a deep desire to work with media and pop culture in the parish, and am excited about the potential of it to reach the margins, a little voice has been planted in my head that has already begun to make me think twice about some of my choices for material to present.

I’m excited for how Hess’s book has shaped some upcoming projects for engaging pop culture in the parish and I could carry on more about her book, but if you have any interest for the potential of media use in the parish pick the book up for yourself and keep it handy as you venture out to encounter God in ALL aspects of life.